Car insurance companies in Arizona are required to offer a basic state-mandated policy, in order to provider coverage in case of injuries from accidents. Although it follows that the more coverage you purchase, the better you’re protected from financial risks, the state requires only that you meet minimum requirements. As such, Arizona law dictates the inclusion of both bodily injury and property damage minimums as part of this ‘basic’ level of coverage. The minimum required limits are $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident for Bodily Injury and $10,000 per accident for Property Damage.
Despite the seemingly large sums, the state minimum policy is not all inclusive. This coverage pays for bodily injury to others for which you become legally responsible due to an auto accident in which you were involved. It does not pay for bodily injury you may sustain. Therefore, you would need to have Medical Payments coverage in order to have the injuries you sustain in an auto accident covered under an auto policy. If you would like to affirm that your insurance coverage is appropriate for your family’s needs, contact Pak & Moring for a consultation and evaluation of your automobile insurance coverage.
For more information about the specific types of bodily injury and proprty damage insurance mandated by state law, see the Pak & Moring blog post about Third Party Liability Coverage in Arizona.